A remote-proctored certification exam is monitored by two separate mechanisms, and candidates almost always prepare for only one of them. The first is the live session: a webcam and microphone feed, photographs of your ID and your desk, a one-screen requirement, and a proctor who can end the exam while you are sitting in it. The second runs after you pass, on your answer data rather than your video, and can invalidate a result or revoke a credential you have already listed on your résumé. The second mechanism is the one that surprises people, because nothing about the exam-day experience tells you it exists.
This guide covers certification exams delivered remotely through Pearson VUE's OnVUE platform, which AWS, Microsoft, CompTIA and many other certification bodies use for online proctored delivery. Every rule quoted below comes from the certification body's or vendor's own published policy, read on 20 September 2026. Rules differ by program, and the program you are testing under is the one that governs you.
Layer one: what the live session captures
Microsoft's certification policy is the most explicit about the feed itself. Microsoft states that "when taking the exam, you'll be recorded, and the proctor will monitor you by video and audio," and that "monitoring includes your face, voice, and the room where you are seated during the exam" (Microsoft Learn, about online exams with Pearson VUE, updated 23 July 2026). The same page confirms that automated review sits alongside the human one: "exam sessions may be monitored using a combination of human oversight and artificial intelligence (AI) technologies. AI tools may analyze exam session data and generate alerts for potential policy violations or irregularities."
CompTIA describes the same arrangement from the candidate's side: "your online testing session will be continuously monitored through your webcam and microphone. Audio and video from your testing session may be reviewed and recorded for exam security, quality assurance, and fraud prevention purposes" (CompTIA online-proctored exam guidelines). CompTIA also requires candidates to "provide photographs of your testing environment" and to complete a webcam room scan at the greeter's direction.
At the platform level, Pearson VUE describes OnVUE as combining "sophisticated artificial intelligence to augmented live human proctoring" and identity checks built on "advanced identity authentication technology" (Pearson VUE, online proctoring with OnVUE). A certification body's own OnVUE documentation is more specific about what the automation does: the software "uses artificial intelligence (AI) techniques to perform enhanced ID authentication and a face-to-ID-photo comparison," and proctors record incidents as "Session Events" in OnVUE, which "are logged and can be reviewed during and after a test taker's exam session" (NREMT, About OnVUE).
That last detail matters more than it looks. A flag raised by a proctor is not only a live intervention; it becomes a record attached to your session that someone can open later.
The machine-side requirements are narrower than most candidates expect. OnVUE delivery requires "an ability to close all other running applications except for OnVUE," permits "one display screen" only, with "secondary displays must be disconnected and touch screens are not permitted," and requires candidates to "remain quiet unless instructed by your exam or proctor (do not read the questions aloud)" (The Open Group, online proctored exams (OnVUE)). The single-display rule is enforced here by instruction and camera rather than by the software probing your display topology, which is close to the opposite of how a hiring platform typically approaches the same question — see what a coding interview can and cannot learn about a second monitor for that contrast.
It is also not the same thing as a locked-down assessment client. OnVUE asks you to close your applications before check-in; a proctored hiring assessment delivered as a desktop app often enumerates and blocks them itself, which is a different threat model with different failure modes (when the coding assessment is an app, not a website).
The rules that catch prepared, honest candidates
Most terminated sessions are not attempts at fraud. They are ordinary conditions that the policy treats as disqualifying:
- Leaving the camera frame at all. AWS states that for online proctored exams "you are not permitted to stand up from or leave the view of the camera for any reason for the duration of the exam, including for a restroom break" (AWS Certification, during testing policies, updated 30 June 2025). On a three-hour professional-level exam, that is a planning constraint, not a formality.
- Anyone else entering the room. Microsoft requires that the space "must be walled, have a closed door, and be free from disruptions" and that "no one else can be in or enter the room during your exam."
- Objects within reach. Microsoft asks that books, notepads, sticky notes, printed pages and writing instruments stay out of arm's reach. CompTIA extends the device ban to "phones, tablets, smart devices, headphones, earbuds, watches—including smartwatches and smart glasses."
- Reading aloud or muttering. Both the OnVUE instructions and CompTIA's guidelines require silence, and CompTIA specifically says "do not read questions out loud." Subvocalising while you work is a habit worth breaking before exam day rather than during it.
- A second screen you forgot about. Microsoft instructs candidates to "unplug any additional monitors and turn them away from you," and to turn off other computers in the area.
The consequences are stated plainly. CompTIA warns that "failure to adhere to any of these requirements may result in your exam being revoked, your results invalidated, and a possible permanent ban from future CompTIA exams." Microsoft's version is that if a proctor believes the rules agreement was broken, they "will terminate the exam and report the infraction to Microsoft, along with audio and/or video evidence," after which "the exam may be invalidated, and Microsoft may decertify and even ban the candidate."
Layer two: why a pass can be reversed months later
This is the part with no exam-day equivalent. AWS publishes a data forensics policy describing "rigorous statistical analyses of our exams through a process called data forensics," which "helps us identify unusual patterns in test performance that may indicate irregular testing behavior" (AWS Certification, data forensics policy). AWS says it established baseline performance metrics through research and looks for significant deviations from them. Where a deviation is found, the available sanctions include invalidating results, revoking certifications, suspending program access, and restricting access to online test delivery.
Three features of that process deserve attention before you sit an exam:
It operates on results you already have. Data forensics runs on exam data, not on your webcam feed, so it is not bounded by the session. A credential issued in one quarter can be reviewed in a later one.
The signals are deliberately undisclosed. The policy states that AWS does "not share specific details about detected anomalies when invalidating exams or denying appeals." The reasoning is straightforward — published thresholds are gameable — but the effect on an accused candidate is that there is no specific allegation to rebut.
The appeal window is short and the outcome is final. AWS gives candidates 14 calendar days from notification to appeal. A Security Agent reviews the case and may uphold, reduce, overturn, or increase the sanction, and that decision is final. The AWS policy pages carrying this language showed a last update of 20 August 2026 when read for this article.
Statistical forensics is a probabilistic method applied to a population, and any such method produces both correct detections and errors. Neither AWS nor the other programs reviewed here publish false-positive rates, review volumes, or the proportion of appeals that succeed, so the accuracy of the process cannot be independently assessed from public documents. That is a real limitation of what any candidate-facing guide, including this one, can tell you.
Microsoft's and CompTIA's published pages describe live monitoring and post-session review of recordings; they do not describe a statistical forensics program of the kind AWS documents. The absence of a published policy is not evidence that no such analysis happens — only that it is not documented on the pages cited above.
| Requirement | Microsoft | CompTIA | AWS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Session recorded and reviewable | Yes, video and audio of face, voice, room | Yes, webcam and microphone, may be reviewed and recorded | Behavior monitored by AWS and its delivery provider |
| Workspace photos or room scan | Room must be walled and empty of others | Environment photographs plus webcam room scan | Not specified on the pages cited |
| Additional displays | Unplug and turn away | One display only | Not specified on the pages cited |
| Automated analysis of the session | Documented: AI may generate alerts | Not specified on the pages cited | Not specified on the pages cited |
| AI assistance during the exam | Explicitly prohibited | Outside assistance prohibited | Exams must be completed without assistance |
| Documented post-exam statistical review | Not documented | Not documented | Yes, data forensics with a 14-day appeal |
Read without the table: all three programs record and review the session, all three prohibit outside help, and only AWS publishes a named process for re-examining a result after the fact.
How this differs from a hiring assessment
A hiring assessment and a certification exam both produce integrity signals, but the signals go to different places and cost you different things.
When a coding assessment flags you, the flag is usually advisory. It lands in a report a recruiter or hiring manager reads alongside your score, you are rarely told it happened, and the worst realistic outcome is that you do not advance — a process covered in more detail in what happens when a coding assessment flags you.
A certification body is not making a hiring decision. It is the issuer of a credential, so its sanctions act on the credential itself: invalidation, decertification, and program bans, potentially after you have already claimed the certification on a résumé or a contract bid. The downside is asymmetric, and it arrives with a 14-day clock rather than a conversation.
Where an AI interview assistant does and does not fit
It does not fit here, and the published rules are unambiguous about why. Microsoft's policy states that a candidate "may not receive assistance or coaching from others or from any AI tool while taking the exam," and AWS requires candidates to "complete your own exams without assistance." That is a rule about the assistance, not about the delivery mechanism, so no property of a particular tool makes it compliant.
The mechanics point the same way. Control is a desktop assistant for Windows and macOS built around live interviews, coding assessments and screen-share workflows, where the relevant question is what a screen capture or meeting client transmits. A remote-proctored certification exam is not primarily watching your screen. It is watching your face and your room through a webcam, listening on a microphone, requiring a single display and an empty desk, and — in the AWS case — analysing your answer pattern after you leave. Those controls are indifferent to how an overlay renders.
Where a live assistant is genuinely relevant is the screen-share interview where the employer permits it, and the first step there is establishing that permission rather than assuming it. How to verify the AI rules before a technical interview covers how to get that in writing, and the same discipline applies in reverse to certification exams: the candidate agreement you click through is the binding document, and it is worth reading before the timer starts.
A short pre-exam checklist
- Read your program's own online-proctored policy, not a summary. The programs surveyed here differ on displays, breaks, and what counts as an infraction.
- Plan for no breaks unless your program documents them, and book a slot accordingly.
- Physically disconnect secondary displays and clear the desk, rather than tidying it mentally.
- Test check-in on the machine and network you will actually use, and close everything else before you start.
- Keep your confirmation emails and score report. If a result is later questioned, a 14-day appeal window is not the moment to go looking for them.
The short version
Treat a remote-proctored certification exam as two tests. The live one is won by preparing your room and your machine as carefully as the material, because most terminations come from environment rules rather than from anything anyone would call cheating. The delayed one is not something you pass or fail on the day at all: it is a statistical review you cannot see, on evidence you will not be shown, with a fortnight to respond. That asymmetry is the strongest practical argument for keeping certification exams entirely separate from any tool or workflow you use elsewhere in a job search.
Share
Explore with AI
Continue exploring
Related guides
Assessment Guides · 7 min read
Is the Amazon OA Proctored? What Gets Logged
Amazon's Online Assessment has no live proctor, but browser usage is logged, print screen ends your session, and login-required sites are prohibited.
Assessment Guides · 8 min read
Can an Interview Tell You're on a Remote Desktop?
A browser tab can barely see an RDP session. A desktop lockdown app asks the operating system directly. What each layer detects, and what gets falsely flagged.
Assessment Guides · 5 min read
What CodeSignal Proctoring Records and Who Reviews It
A proctored CodeSignal session records camera, microphone, and screen for the whole test, plus a face photo and ID. Humans review it within 1 to 3 business days.